10 Things You Probably Don’t Know About Dachshunds

2) There Are Over 500 Dachshund “Flavors”

In the US, Dachshunds come in 2 official sizes – miniature Dachshunds and standard Dachshunds.

Miniatures are defined a dog that is 11 lbs or under at 1 year of age. Standard Dachshunds are 16 lbs and over (the max usually being around 40 lbs.)

There are Dachshunds that don’t fall neatly into those size categories though.

For example, of course, there are Dachshunds that weigh between 12 and 15 lbs. Some breed registries consider anything 12 lbs and over to be a standard. The average Dachshund owner usually refers dogs in this middle range as “tweenies”.

Anything 11 lbs and under is a miniature so don’t be fooled buy people claiming they raise “toy” or “teacup” Dachshunds. There is no such thing.

There are 3 coat types: smooth (short haired), long haired, and wire haired.

There are approximately 15 different color combinations: black & cream, black & tan, blue & cream, blue & tan, chocolate & cream, chocolate & tan, cream, fawn (also called Isabella) & cream, fawn & tan, red, wheaten, wild boar, black, chocolate, and fawn.

There are at least 6 marking combinations: brindle, dapple, sable, brindle piebald, dapple piebald, and piebald.

Doing the math reveals that there are 540 color/coat/pattern possibilities.

Photo Credit: Depositphotos/Brusnikaphoto

Of course, genetics control what is possible so there might be less than that in reality. Still, it’s crazy how many different Dachshund “flavors” there are.

9 Things Your Dachshund Wants to Tell You

9 Things Your Yorkie Wants to Tell You